I confess I am disappointed. There are fifteen seats on Ludlow Town Council. But there are only two candidates for the 6 May election who don’t already sit on the council. One is me and I am elected unopposed to Gallows Bank Ward, the area I live in. That makes sense to me as I deal with a lot of local issues already. Another new face is Alan Tapley, who will standing in Bringewood Ward. This will be the only contested election on 6 May. Everyone else is elected unopposed.

No one is standing for Clee View Ward. Those two seats will be co-opted, as will a vacant seat on Hayton Ward unless the town council decides to hold by-elections. I favour by-elections because councillors co-opting only appoint people in their own image and the co-optees rarely prove to be innovators.

All councils need new faces and new ideas. Councils and councillors need to face a degree of challenge. Challenge focuses the mind and drives innovation rather than the same old thing drifting on. I am disappointed that more people have not put their name forward.


Currently held by Rose Jones and Jim Smithers. This will be a contested election between Rose Jones, Jim Smithers and Alan Tapley.

Clee View

Currently held by Colin Sheward and Rob Naysmith. No candidates. The vacant seat is likely to be filled by co-option.

Corve Ward

Currently held by  Glen Ginger and Robin Pote. They are re-elected unopposed.

Gallows Bank

Currently held by Adrian Cobbley, Graeme Perks and Viv Parry. Andy Boddington, Graeme Perks and Viv Parry are elected unopposed.

Hayton Ward

Currently held by Mark Clarke and Erica Garner. Erica is re-elected unopposed and there is a vacant seat to be filled by co-option or a by-election.


Currently held by Di Lyle and Sean O’Neil. They are re-elected unopposed.

Whitcliffe Ward

Currently held by Tim Gill (Mayor) and Phil Adams. They are re-elected unopposed.

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading